killomother.blogg.se

How to download addons wow folder
How to download addons wow folder









how to download addons wow folder
  1. HOW TO DOWNLOAD ADDONS WOW FOLDER INSTALL
  2. HOW TO DOWNLOAD ADDONS WOW FOLDER UPDATE
  3. HOW TO DOWNLOAD ADDONS WOW FOLDER SOFTWARE
  4. HOW TO DOWNLOAD ADDONS WOW FOLDER CODE

If you intend on targeting retail or vanilla instead be sure to update that value.įollowing that, I believe Title, Notes, Author and Version are self explanatory. The correct value for Interface can be found in game by running the following command: /run print((select(4, GetBuildInfo()))) At the time of writing classic is currently 11302. If you’ve ever looked at package.json in a JavaScript project for example, this serves a similar purpose.

how to download addons wow folder

This file provides the information required about the addon to the WoW client. In the Sandbox folder create a new text file named Sandbox.toc. An addon is born! Creating the Table of Contents Open _classic_/Interface/Addons and create a Sandbox folder. Depending on what you have installed you will may see _classic_ and _retail_ and _ptr_ folders in that directory.

HOW TO DOWNLOAD ADDONS WOW FOLDER INSTALL

Provided you haven’t changed the default install location the World of Warcraft directory will either be located in C:\Program Files or C:\Program Files (X86) on Windows or the /Applications/ on a Mac.

how to download addons wow folder

For now, since we are just getting started, let’s just work out of the Addons directory.

HOW TO DOWNLOAD ADDONS WOW FOLDER CODE

I’d recommend using GitHub to manage your code and only update your local addon directory when you are ready to test a new version, possibly with a deployment script. How you manage your project long term is up to you. Do explore the available extensions and make your own decision on their usefulness. I have crossed paths with vscode plugins touting both Lua and World of Warcraft support but the editor is sufficient out of the box for what is needed here. That should be more than enough for this journey and enable future programming endeavors. If you don’t already have a preference I would recommend downloading Microsoft Visual Studio Code. Older tutorials will recommend you the most basic of text editors, which will work, but we can do better than that. We’re going to need an editor to develop this addon. If you’ve used or written a macro in game you’re already ahead.

HOW TO DOWNLOAD ADDONS WOW FOLDER SOFTWARE

I’m a software engineer by trade but I’ve never written a game addon before, so it’s not a requirement that you have either. This article assumes you have at least some basic knowledge in software development and are at least interested in how the World of Warcraft addon system works. Then, out of nowhere, my curiosity got the best of me. With all my handicaps addressed I was firmly hooked. I installed quite a few addons while feeling like a kid in a candy store.

how to download addons wow folder

What addons were out there and what they could do for me? Everyone had so much experience I thought it was only fair that I bridge the gap. Not having a clue, I played for a few sittings before getting the itch. Unlike me they had played on and off for the last fifteen years, both vanilla and retail. Minutes passed during my group’s first play of the game and the chatter started about all the addons they just had to install. Classic finally launched on Augand I joined in as to not miss out on the twice in a lifetime experience. I was tempted to play again after learning about “vanilla” servers but had already mentally committed myself to wait for the official servers. During the hype around “classic” I tried “retail” for a moment and abruptly stopped due to a move to a new home. I skipped over WoW for reasons I can’t completely recall. I played other Blizzard games, both before and after its release, including the original Warcraft series and Diablo. A Beginner’s Guide to Developing an Addon for World of Warcraft Classic











How to download addons wow folder